[Tutorial] Homemade Hershey’s Chocolate & Almond Cookies

I guess since my blog isn’t mainly on beauty , and I’ve started my other hobby – baking , so I might start posting recipes that I use when I bake too , including pictures and other information ! I’ve realized too that my craving to bake happens really random , like in the middle of the night at 2am . So this is what I’ve to show for .

For my first time baking on my own , and the fact that it’s in the middle of the night and I couldn’t go out to the store to pick up whatever was missing , I used items that were already available in my house . And since I had a ton of chocolate bars , I decided why not !

This was initially a craving for edible cookie dough , but I realized after trying it that maybe it isn’t really my thing , so I just went ahead to bake the dough . I know some people might say that eating raw dough is bad , but the main ingredient that are the cause the sickness are the eggs (which may contain salmonella) , which I did not include in my baking .

DSC_0115
Ingredients :

1/2 cup castor sugar
1/3 cup butter
2 cups plain flour
1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup brown sugar (optional)
1 tsp vanilla extract or essence (optional)
1/3 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Items :

A large mixing bowl
Measuring cup
Measuring spoons (or just a regular teaspoon)
Either a whisk or a mixer (But I just used a spoon to mix them)
Parchment paper
An oven
Cling wrap (optional)

* I didn’t have chocolate chips around so I used Hershey’s Milk Chocolate & Almonds instead . Didn’t have brown sugar either . Vanilla extract/essence is more for the subtle smell and taste of the cookies but isn’t necessary if you don’t have it .

This makes about 20-30 cookies if you follow the size I did . The cookies will also be hard on the outside but somewhat chewy overall if you follow my recipe .

DSC_0117
Firstly , chop up your chocolate bars . It doesn’t have to be crushed too tiny . It will only melt slightly while baking .

DSC_0118

DSC_0122

Next , mix your butter and sugar together . Be sure that the butter has slightly melted down or it will get stuck to the whisk while mixing .

DSC_0123

Next , add the flour to the butter and sugar mixture .

DSC_0121

You will find that the mixture is dry and tough to mix properly , and that’s where you add in the milk .

DSC_0124

This adds moisture to the dough and helps when you mix them .

DSC_0125

DSC_0126

This next step is optional but I had it so I added it in . Add 1 tsp of vanilla extract/essence to the dough ; this gives it a really nice aroma . You may increase or decrease the amount of vanilla extract/essence to suit your preference as some people don’t like how heavy it tastes .

DSC_0127

Continue to mix the vanilla extract/essence into the dough .

DSC_0128

DSC_0129

Finally add the chocolate chips into the dough and mix it evenly .

If you are planning to eat it raw , this is all ready for consumption (I pinched a bite and it was good !) . However , I went ahead to pop it into the fridge to get it a little into shape before trying it out .

DSC_0130

Prepare some cling wrap .

DSC_0131
Place your dough onto the cling wrap .

DSC_0132
When you’re done , it should look like this . If you have the time , you could leave it in the fridge for about 2 hours . If you’d like it a little faster , pop it in the freezer for 15-30 minutes .

I had about one ‘blob’ of dough raw and decided I’d want to bake the rest , which I did , and they turned out really nice ! You may bake them straight after preparing the dough , or leaving them in the fridge/freezer . However , do remember if the dough is cold when you place them in the oven , do add some minutes to your baking duration .

DSC_0002

So I took them out of the cling wrap and shaped them onto a tray laid with a sheet of parchment paper . Excuse the weird shapes , I was just playing around x3

DSC_0003

Preheat the oven at 350 ºF (or 180 ºC) and leave the cookies in for about 15-20 minutes depending on the size and how crunchy you’d like them be .
The cookies will increase in size only ever so slightly as there isn’t any baking powder in it , it will not rise or expand much .

DSC_0004

DSC_0006

The longer it bakes , the drier the cookie , the crunchier it is . I left mine in for about 20 minutes , the exterior was hard and the interior was slightly soft and chewy as I made them a little big in size . The base of the cookies would be a little brown and that’s normal .

This was the first time I’d bake alone , in the middle of the night at 2am and with whatever I could find lying around my house . They do taste quite good !
I’d say the cookies taste better after baking (raw cookie dough is really preferential after all) . They’re a tad sweet but it goes really well with a cup of tea , the sweetness and bitterness complements one another . You may also tweak the recipe and reduce the amount of sugar used .
Brown sugar adds a little colour to the cookie so if your cookie looks different , it’s totally fine !
If you don’t have butter , you can also substitute it with margarine .

Don’t forget to like , share and leave your comments and opinions and let me know what you think about my tutorial , thanks !

Stay tune for more reviews , tips and tutorials in the near future !

Love , Gee .

© Disclaimer : All articles and reviews are based solely on my personal opinions . I am not under any organization or sponsored by any product or company . Copyrights reserved .

Leave your thoughts !

