[Information] WordPress Has Been Sneaky ..

So I was browsing my blog’s Stats and noticed that I had a bunch of ‘Spam‘ comments in the Akismet section . Upon clicking it , it brought me to my Comment page .

What I found out was that Akismet had automatically deleted what they thought were spam comments . Though when I actually checked today’s comments , only 3 out of 6 of them were by spam bots , and it made me realize that maybe WordPress had mistakenly deleted proper comments .

I really apologize if you’ve visited my blog and left a comment , but realized it didn’t appear . No one did email me about it so I didn’t realize what had happen .

I’ve found a ton of help on the WordPress forums but some were a little unclear so I have taken some screenshots that may help if you’ve encountered the similar problem .

Firstly , visit your blog’s main site . Click on the Stats on the top bar . This will bring you to the Stats page . Scroll down until you see the Totals , Followers & Shares section .
There you will find out how many comments Akismet had already delete off your blog . Click on the link below that says (x comments) to look at the comments that can still be published to your blog .

Discussion 3

Next , click your Dashboard . This will bring the list of options on the left . Scroll down until you see the Settings option . When more options appear , click on Discussion .

Discussion

After you’ve done that , scroll down to where it says Comment Moderation . There , you will see a check box and a box to add numbers in . If left unchecked , Akismet will automatically delete comments they think is spam (even if they aren’t) , and thus if you’d like to prevent it from happening , remember to check the box .

Discussion 2

When you’re done , just scroll down and Save Settings and that should have solved the problem .

What I’ve realized is that Akismet blocks comments that are either really long , if they are not in English or have multiple links in them . So do check it out if your blog’s having the same issue . I do help this little tutorial helps !

Love , Gee .

© Disclaimer : All articles and reviews are based solely on my personal opinions . I am not under any organization or sponsored by any product or company . Copyrights reserved .

Leave your thoughts !

