[Review] Baikohken Ramen Restaurant

24513_110513012302756_6289714_n
Baikohken was founded in Japan in the year 1969 . Singapore is the first overseas outlet that opened on 28 May 2008 . The restaurant is located at Ngee Ann City / Takashimaya Basement 2 .

So my friend and I were looking for somewhere to have our dinner at and we thought we’d try out this place . We ordered each a bowl of ramen and a plate of gyoza (fried dumplings) .

DSC_0020

Snapped a picture of the menu . The ramen we had were the Shoyu (soy sauce) and the Miso (bean paste) .

DSC_0018

Both of us had gotten the regular sized ramen .

DSC_0016
So my friend had the Miso Ramen .
This had Char siew (roasted pork) , bamboo shoots , spring onion , mince meat and fried bean sprouts .

The soup was very thick and tasty , with enough flavour and saltiness . I totally loved the soup and was hoping I ordered this for myself . The only issue (although not a big one) was that the amount of bean sprouts in the ramen was a tad too much , it felt like bean sprout soup with a side of ramen .

DSC_0017

My dish was the Shoyu Ramen .
This had char siew , spring onion and bamboo shoots .

The soup was tasty , however I felt like it tasted quite different from the usual Shoyu-based noodles that I’ve had before . It wasn’t bad , but the Miso had packed in a better punch for me . What I was most surprised about was how soft and juicy the char siew was . I am usually not a fan of japanese char siew as they normally prepare the meat to be quite tough and dry , but the char siew from Baikohken tasted really good .

DSC_0019

We has also ordered a plate of gyoza – crispy on one side , soft on the other .
It was slightly burnt (I know some people like it that way) . It tasted alright , nothing special but not all that bad either .

My friend had also gotten one ajitsuke tamago (Japanese marinated soft boil egg) . The egg was cooked to our liking , hard boiled egg whites with a semi-cooked egg yolk (more gooey than runny) . I did wish the yolk was a little more runny but overall I did quite enjoy it .

Verdict : Baikohken is a ramen restaurant that I would probably visit again . They serve three different soup-based ramens and a few other side dishes . Located at Takashimaya Basement 2 , the restaurant is usually packed during lunch/dinner timings , so if you would like a seat , come after the crowd has left .
I really enjoyed both ramens , especially the miso soup . The bean sprouts were a little too much for both of us (she passed more than half to me and we still couldn’t finish it) but the noodles and ingredients were sufficient . I would suggest that you go for the half instead of the regular if you are a small eater – we thought it wouldn’t be a problem and got the regular and had a hard time finishing our meals .
Do give this place a try if you are a fan of ramen , I’m sure it wouldn’t let you down .
Also , on the first visit , one will get a stamp card and by hitting a certain amount , one gets a stamp on the card . Upon reaching 10 stamps , you may redeem one of two different side dishes (gyoza or a mini rice bowl) .

Don’t forget to like , share and leave your comments and opinions and let me know what you think about my review , thanks !

Stay tune for more reviews , tips and tutorials in the near future !

Love , Gee .

© Disclaimer : All articles and reviews are based solely on my personal opinions . I am not under any organization or sponsored by any product or company . Copyrights reserved .

2 thoughts on “[Review] Baikohken Ramen Restaurant

  1. There are some exciting points in time in this post but I dont determine if I see all of them center to heart. There is certainly some validity but I will require hold thoughts and opinions until My partner and i look into this further. Piece of content , thanks and we want far more! Added to FeedBurner also

Leave your thoughts !

