[Review] NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil , Retractable Eye Liner & Eyeshadow Base

Finally after one week of working , I get an off day to rest my aching body . I’ll be doing reviews for some items today and tomorrow including NYX , Spehora and Essence . I will be grouping some items in the same review , and the rest in others .

First I’ll be starting off with NYX eye products – Jumbo Eye Pencil , Retractable Eye Liner and Eyeshadow Base !

nyx-cosmetics-profile

NYX started out in Los Angeles in 1999 . The brand was named after the goddess who ruled the night .

DSC_0034

My NYX Haul !

DSC_0038

NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in 604 Milk
I would have to say this is my current favourite item . It is a really versatile product that can be purchased below 10 bucks . This jumbo pencil can be used in various ways .

  • As an eyeshadow primer .
  • As an eyeshadow .
  • As an eyeliner (even on the water line ) .
  • As an inner eye duct / brow bone highlight colour .
  • As a white face base ( I coloured my face with this for a Geisha-inspired look ) .
  • Can apply it under eyes / on eye bags to brighten up your eye area .

This Jumbo Eye Pencil is creamy and thus it glides smooth on my skin with ease . It is also very pigmented . The pencil is not retractable so one may sharpen it with a jumbo eyeliner pencil sharpener .

The Jumbo Eye Pencil comes in 32 different shades on their website , but only about 5 shades were available in Sephora where I got mine .

DSC_0039

NYX Retractable Eye Liner in MPE 01 White

This Retractable Eye Liner is also a nice product to have . It is thinner thus better to use on your eyes if you want something precise , although it isn’t as creamy as the Jumbo Eye Pencil , but still quite pigmented . It is also waterproof / hydrofuge . This lasts a little longer on the waterline than the Jumbo Eye Pencil , although it still goes off in a few hours .

Retractable Eye Liner comes in 18 different shades on the website , but also about 5 were available at Sephora .

DSC_0042

Swatch with flash , Left-Right : Jumbo Eye Pencil in 604 Milk , Retractable Eye Liner in MPE 01 White .

Both shades and pigmentation are pretty similar to one another . But the Jumbo Eye Pencil is creamier and the Retractable Eye Liner gives more precision .

DSC_0036

NYX Eye Shadow Base

DSC_0035

In ESB 03 Skin Tone

This eyeshadow base , also known as eyeshadow primer , is useful if one wants to keep their eyeshadow long-lasting throughout the day , to prevent fallout or creasing or to have their eyeshadow colours pop (if you use a white base) . There isn’t a need to heavily coat your eyelid as this primer spreads easily . I had already purchased the Jumbo Eye Pencil in 604 Milk so I skipped getting the Eye Shadow Base in white .
What I have found out is that one could use this as a concealer as well . Because it is a primer , it lasts long on your skin . I have been applying this under my eyes to conceal my slightly darkened eye bags and it works really well . One does not need to apply a lot to conceal as the product is quite strong with just a dab .

The NYX Eye Shadow Base comes in three shades – White , White Pearl (shimmery) and Skin Tone .

Verdict : I personally love NYX products as they’re really affordable and readily available at Sephora outlets . They have quite a few different shades for the products they have , mainly eyeliners , eye shadows and lip colours (matte and glossy lipsticks , lip gloss etc. ) . I fell in love with the Jumbo Eye Pencil‘s pigmentation and the creaminess of it the moment I swatched on my hand , and it was an insta-buy . I think that this is a must-have item for everyone because of it’s versatility . The Retractable Eye Liner is also pigmented and long lasting – even on the waterline .

Tip : If you find that when you are sharpening the Jumbo Eye Pencil and it breaks or stays blunt , pop it into the freezer for a few minutes , then take it out and sharpen again . The cold does not affect the lead , but it does help with temporary hardening so your pencil doesn’t break .

Don’t forget to like , share and leave your comments and opinions and let me know what you think about the products and my review , thanks !

Stay tune for more reviews , tips and tutorials in the near future !

Love , Gee .

© Disclaimer : All articles and reviews are based solely on my personal opinions . I am not under any organization or sponsored by any product or company . Copyrights reserved .

Leave your thoughts !

