[Review] Olay Pro-X Microdermabrasion Plus Advanced Cleansing System

81s7OZRl+sL._SL1500_

I decided to do a review on this specific product because I’ve seen tons of blogs and YouTube videos reviewing on the Olay Pro-X Advanced Cleansing System but none on this next generation .

Today I will be reviewing the Olay Pro-X Microdermabrasion Plus Advanced Cleansing System which I have been using for about three weeks now . This product is an ‘upgraded’ version of it’s previous Olay Pro-X Advanced Cleansing System . This new and improved set has a new Microdermabrasion Foam head , high speed setting and a Thermal Crystal Polisher .

Olay is an American skin care line that started out in 1949 with it’s original brand name as Oil of Olay . The Olay brand has expanded into a range of other products grouped in “boutiques” including Complete, Total Effects, Professional, Regenerist, Quench (North America), White Radiance (Asia) and Olay Vitamins (USA) . Olay is well-known for their anti-aging moisturizers with the launch of Total Effects in 1999 .

DSC_0002

Back of box .

DSC_0002

Box contents .

Kit includes a 3 Speed Facial Cleansing System , Microdermabrasion Foam Head , Cleansing Brush Head , Thermal Crystal Polisher (0.68 fl. oz.) , Exfoliating Renewal Cleanser (0.68 fl. oz.) , & 2 AA Duracell Batteries .

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0009

DSC_0008

The 3-Speed Facial Cleansing System from different angles .

The brushes on the Olay Pro-X Microdermabrasion Plus Advanced Cleansing System are interchangeable . Mainly two brushes are used , the Microdermabrasion Foam Head and the Cleansing Brush Head . To attach the brushes to the system head , press the system head onto the connection pin until it clicks into place . The brush head is sturdy when clicked in and will not fall off when the system is turned on .

Also , the Olay brush rotates while the Clarisonic brush vibrates .

There are three speeds to the cleansing system . Each speed setting lets you choose the precise level of facial cleansing you need each day . Use the slowest speed for lighter cleansing , or try the Advanced Cleansing Speed for a deep clean . The Microdermabrasion brush should be used with the 3rd / highest speed on the system .

DSC_0003

DSC_0007

DSC_0006

DSC_0005

Left-Right : Cleansing Brush Head and Microdermabrasion Foam Head from different angles .

The brushes work together to gently polish away imperfections , dull patches and surface discoloration . The product claims that exfoliation is at least 7x better than our scrub alone . I personally think that the brushes feel really soft on the skin , and the cleansing is definitely better than just a scrub , because the brush bristles are very fine and are able to reach into pores that your fingers may not . My face has gotten clearer around the cheeks and I always feel fresher after using it .

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

Left-Right : Exfoliating Renewal Cleanser (0.68 fl. oz.) , Thermal Crystal Polisher (0.68 fl. oz.) .

In both the cleanser and polisher are fine beads that exfoliate the skin .

The sample tubes are actually quite small and the actual cleanser/polisher product is quite little so you may need to get the proper bigger tube when you are done with it . You can use your personal cleanser to replace the Exfoliating Renewal Cleanser , however it is advised to use the Thermal Crystal Polisher for microdermabrasion . After using either products , your skin will feel soft and clean , however it is recommended to follow up with a moisturizer as the cleansing/polishing may dry your facial skin .

This product is designed to increase skin exfoliation that may increase skin’s sensitivity to the sun and particularly the possibility of sunburn .  It is therefore favoured to apply sunscreen after use .

b2f8f403-1d7e-4d58-bed5-bc01fd33f78e

An overview of the two generations of Olay’s Pro-X .

Directions : Dampen facial skin and system head with water . Gently massage on face for 60 seconds . Avoid the eye area . Rinse face and system head with water after use .

Advanced daily cleansing gentle enough for daily use on days when microdermabrasion treatment not used . Microdermabrasion treatments should be limited to 2 non-consecutive days/week . Do not use your personal scrub together with the Olay Pro-X Cleansing System as it might be too abrasive to the skin .

* Remember to remove makeup before using to prevent the brushes from being stained .

It is better to use it at the end of the day when your skin has accumulated dirt and sweat etc. as in the morning your skin would still be clean . The cleansing system is waterproof therefore one is able to use the product in the shower . There is no problem with using it multiple times daily so depending on your skin’s condition , you may wish to try it once a day first and slowly increase the frequency . I would suggest starting with the first/slowest speed for cleansing as it is less harsh on your skin , and slowly work it up to the second/middle speed .

Installing the battery : The battery compartment is at the bottom of the cleansing system with the logo printed on it . The cap fits on rather tight to prevent water from seeping in (the waterproof function) , and therefore one might need a little strength to open it . Hold the cap firmly , wiggle the cap and rock it side to side while pulling .

I do not own the Clarisonic Mia nor have I tried it therefore I will not be able to do a review or comparison with that product .

The Olay Pro-X Microdermabrasion Plus Advanced Cleansing System is not currently available in Singapore but can be purchased online . The Cleansing Brush Head and Exfoliating Renewal Cleanser can be found in Watsons stores .

Verdict : I have only been using the product for 3 weeks so I might not be able to fully show how well it has worked for me . I might update again in the future . I hope the review has helped whoever who was looking to buy this product . I personally do enjoy using it and will be using it for a long time . Olay’s Pro-X is much more affordable (a fraction of the price) than the Clarisonic Mia , but to each their own , it may work differently on everyone . I prefer using my personal cleanser (with exfoliating beads) with the daily cleansing brush and the Thermal Crystal Polisher from them for the microdermabrasion as I really enjoy the feeling (the initial heat after you place it on your skin !) .

Update : It’s been a few months now and I would say I still like the Cleansing brush but I’ve stopped using the Microdermabrasion brush as I don’t see anymore dead skin coming off my face when I do use it . I’m using my personal cleanser and it’s been working out for me fine .

Don’t forget to like , share and leave your comments and opinions and let me know what you think about the products and my review , thanks !

Stay tune for more reviews , tips and tutorials in the near future !

Love , Gee .

© Disclaimer : All articles and reviews are based solely on my personal opinions . I am not under any organization or sponsored by any product or company . Copyrights reserved .

8 thoughts on “[Review] Olay Pro-X Microdermabrasion Plus Advanced Cleansing System

  1. Thank you! I’ve been looking for a more informative article on how to use this system. I wasn’t sure if I should or could use both brushes in the same day, and based on your recommednation I won’t. Thanks again!

    • I’m glad my review helped you ! And your comment made me smile , so yay !
      I think it’s really base on personal preference and how sensitive your skin is ; since some people can use the brush 2-3 times a day and some can only use it once .
      The cleansing brush can be used daily because it’s just to help clean the finer pores of your face that your fingers might not be able to reach , however the microdermabrasion brush is more like a buffer on high speed that rids dead skin . Remember to apply a moisturizer after using the microdermabrasion brush just to be safe as the ‘new’ skin tends to be a little more sensitive .

  2. Hi . I need help . I have bumps . Alot of bumps and it doesnt look nice plus dented acne scar on most of my face. Horrible view despite the natural lighting 😦 . Cn this help with my skin problem? If so .. would u recommend the Pro X or microdermation? Thank you .

    • I would say that the Pro X Microdermabrasion is more onto exfoliation , mostly for dead skin . It may help to improve the appearance of acne scars or open pores by ridding the dead skin around it . I’m not sure about bumps , but it also depends on how sensitive your skin — to the brush and to other facial wash/exfoliators , you wouldn’t want to worsen the condition of your face .

  3. Hi there! I was just wondering approximately how long until you would have to replace the microdermabrasion head and where can you purchase it? I’ve searched everywhere online but can’t seem to find any.

    • I think it depends on how frequently you use the brush . What I was told by the seller was around 6 months plus minus , depending on the condition of the brush .
      Ah , I bought mine online on Qoo10 so I’m not too sure if it’s carried in stores yet , maybe you can drop by that site and take a look !

Leave your thoughts !

